Creation of four new LEZs

07 June 2022

Article: 56/2213

On 31 May 2022, Transport Scotland announced the introduction of four new low emission zones (LEZs), following the agreement of plans at local authority level and the approval of Scottish ministers. Following local grace periods, enforcement of the LEZs will cover:

  • Glasgow, where the LEZ already applies to buses, from 1 June 2023, or 1 June 2024 for residents within the zone
  • Edinburgh from 1 June 2024
  • Dundee from 30 May 2024
  • Aberdeen from 1 June 2024

LEZs set an emissions limit for certain road spaces, restricting access for the most polluting vehicles to improve air quality, which aims to help protect public health within our towns and cities, making them more attractive places in which to live, work and to visit. LEZs also encourage people to think about leaving the car at home and to consider public transport or active travel, supporting climate action by helping to meet Scotland’s world-leading commitment to reduce 20% car kilometres travelled by 2030.

Vehicles that do not meet the emission standards set for a LEZ will not be able to drive within the zone, with a penalty charge will be payable by the registered keeper of a vehicle when a non-compliant vehicle enters the LEZ.

The minimum emission standards for vehicles permitted within the four LEZs are:

  • Euro 4 for petrol cars and vans (generally vehicles registered from January 2006)
  • Euro 6 for diesel cars and vans (generally vehicles registered from September 2015)

A number of vehicles are exempt from LEZ requirements, including any vehicle driven by a blue badge holder, the emergency services, military vehicles, historic vehicles, showman's vehicles, motorcycles and mopeds. Funding remains available to help people and businesses comply with LEZs, with information being available on the Low Emissions Zones website.

Source: Low Emissions Zones Scotland, 31 May 2022